Mukerji’s “Butterfly Cube” (WOD 2017 #7)

I’ll be seeing Meenakshi at the upcoming OrigaMIT Convention soon, so I guess she was on my mind, and I realized I hadn’t folded anything of hers in a while, and this caught my eye.

It’s a very satisfying – and not very difficult – modular piece, just six units, but nice flaps to make a cool decorative finish. I found some silver-holographic foil to use for it. The lock is quite strong, and even without glue it would make a nice holiday ornament!

It’s from her 2010 book, Origami Inspirations. It’s a fun book with a mix of modular origami styles and effects – you can find a full gallery of all the pieces in the book at her website, http://origamee.net/ (I can’t link directly to the book’s gallery, but you can find it easily from the homepage.)

This is my seventh fold for World Origami Days 2017. What are you folding?

Leave a comment