OrigaMIT Convention

2016_origamit_groupphoto

Photo by Sylvia Cerel-Suhl

I’d hoped to be better (hope springs eternal!) about taking photos and notes for a more comprehensive convention report – but between teaching two, two-hour classes, taking a class, and trying to say hi to everyone I knew and get a chat or two in… I mostly forgot to take photos. So here’s what I’ve got:

Once again, OrigaMIT, MIT’s origami club, pulled off another wonderful, fun convention. Held in MIT’s Student Center (aka W20 for those of you used to MIT’s building numbering system) classes ran from 10 AM to 6 PM, with an hour break for lunch. They had eight classrooms running concurrent sessions, with a total of 40 different classes, ranging from simple to complex, and several lecture/presentation style sessions. You can see the full program at the club’s convention website. I’m not sure of the headcount this year, but from the group photo I’d say it was near 200. (Feel free to count heads if you wish. Heh.)

20161112_174923121_ios

The “Model Menu”

I taught two classes: Oriol Esteve’s “Nosy Cat” and Huang Tien Quyet’s “Cat.” (Note: no crazy-cat-lady comments; I honestly forgot, when I volunteered to teach the second cat, that my first piece was also a cat. Brain? Me? Not so much.) 

I started off with Quyet’s lovely wet-folded “Cat”. Instructions for the piece are in 50 Hours of Origami +, published by Nicolas Terry. (available in digital format at www.origamishop.us [Americas], and hardcover and/or digital at www.origami-shop.com [Europe].)9782844240859_vog_50hours

I’d rated the class High Intermediate, two hours long, which worked out really well. Though not all that difficult to fold, the piece does become 3D rather than flat, and there are some odd squashes and such; and I intended to teach the piece by folding once with regular commercial origami paper and then wet-folded from 185 g (90 lb) watercolor paper. Which is exactly what we did. The students were somewhat amazed that the piece really didn’t work particularly well dry-folded, but held together beautifully when done in the heavier paper. I think it was very useful, though, for them to have the dry version on hand to remind them of how some of the structures worked.

Happy wetfolded Cat students!

Happy wetfolded Cat students!

My afternoon class was Oriol’s “Nosy Cat” (blogged about here). We folded from some large (35 cm) paper that I had picked up on one of my trips to Japan, which worked out very well. The piece works fine from smaller paper, but having it a little bit larger than usual for the first time through seemed to work very well – everyone got a nice, nosy cat!

I believe the piece will be diagrammed in the bulletin of the AEP (the Spanish origami society – they produce a great publication, it’s well worth joining!)

Happy "Nosy Cat" students

Happy “Nosy Cat” students!

Due to other commitments, I couldn’t stay into the evening, but they had some sort of competition planned (at most origami conventions, it’s common to try folding in some odd way – with your feet, with two people using only one hand each, with chopsticks, etc. – and give out prizes for the first to finish, the best-looking piece, etc. Lots of fun!) and then socializing and after-hours folding until MIT kicked everyone out of the room…

I find I really do like small conventions almost more than the big ones – there seem to be more chances to actually talk to people, and the overall pace is a bit more relaxed. I had a great time this year – congrats, OrigaMIT gang!

One response to “OrigaMIT Convention

  1. Pingback: If everyone gets their 15 minutes of fame… | Anne's Origami Bits·

Leave a Reply

