LaFosse’s “Horseshoe Crab” (WOD 2016 #17)

20161109-lafosse-horseshoecrablafosse_9780804836500_advancedorigamiThough for the most part I’ve tried to find new things to fold for WOD this year, in sorting through some stored stuff I recently stumbled on a version of this piece that I’d folded ages and ages ago in a class with Michael (prior to this book’s publication, I’m pretty sure) and I thought it would be fun to try it again. It’s diagrammed in Advanced Origami (available in hardback at Amazon; also available on Kindle.) I test folded it once to remind myself of the folding sequence, and then gave it a try from a Japanese paper called “ogawawashi.” (It’s a nice, crisp, thin paper, great for creatures.) This one is entirely dry-folded, though the piece of course works really well wet-folded as well. Made from a 25 cm (10 inch) sheet, you get an 18 cm (7 inch) crab, from tip of tail to front of carapace.

I had remembered the piece as being more complicated than it was; except for the very end, where it gets a bit challenging both due to the volume of paper compressed around the base of the tail, and that the piece goes 3D, it’s a very approachable folding sequence for an intermediate folder. I might add it to the fun-intro-to-wet-folding list I keep in my head for convention class ideas…

This is my 17th fold for World Origami Days 2016. What are you folding?

P.S. The Wikipedia page on the Horseshoe Crab is very interesting – for instance, I never knew that they swim upside down, at an angle. I’ve only ever seen them crawling along on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

