Sprung’s “Stern Franziska” (WOD 2016 #10)

sprung_stern-franziska.jpgAn origami buddy posted a photo of a version of this piece on FaceBook, and I thought it looked so nice I’d have to try it.

I’ve had Carmen Sprung’s book “Origami Sterne” (“origami stars”; in German; looks to be out of print, unfortunately) since it came out in 2015, and have folded a few things from it, but hadn’t tried this one. I think I may have found this year’s holiday fold – it’s easy to fold and straightforward to assemble, with a nice, sturdy lock.

I used momigami foil, a crinkled Japanese foil paper, with a contrasting color on the reverse. The piece requires six identical modules, and if you start with three of them one color up, and the other three the opposite, you get the varied effect you see here. I used 9cm (3.5 inch) paper, resulting in a ~10cm (~4 inch) star, measured point-to-point. Looking forward to trying this with other papers!

20161106_200025770_iosThis is my 10th fold for World Origami Days 2016. What are you folding?

Leave a Reply

