“Loon” (my own modification of Montroll’s “Duck”)

20161211_224753256_ios

montroll_0486283410_birdsIn keeping with my idea to have some New-England-themed models in my library display next month, I wanted a Common Loon. There’s a curious lack of Origami Loon pieces out there, it turns out. So I found a nice duck (by John Montroll, published in Birds in Origami) and played around with the head, wings and paper near the chest to try and get some Loon-like details. I’m pleased with the result – while not super-detailed, I think it still gets the characteristic low-in-the-water posture, the long, strong beak, and hints at the complex coloring of these magnificent birds.

20161211_224838228_ios

Montroll’s original “Duck”

 

One response to ““Loon” (my own modification of Montroll’s “Duck”)

  1. Pingback: Common Loon, revisted | Anne's Origami Bits·

Leave a Reply

